STAAR Award Winners


Stop School Bullying Award
Healthier Workplace Award
Cyber Smart Award

Program 2017

Now Available

Join the Discussion

With over 50 presenters addressing bullying, harassing and discriminating behaviour

Partnership Opportunities

Be exposed to an interested audience

Limited opportunities remain

Design a package
To meet your budget and objectives

No More Harm National Conference

Bullying | Harassment | Discrimination

The 2017 No More Harm National Conference was held at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane from the 26 – 27 June.

The Conference theme of ‘Bullying, Harassing and Discriminating Behaviour Solutions’ signified a powerful opportunity to focus on strategies for the elimination of unlawful behaviour which humiliates, intimidates or harms.

In coming together over two days in June, we consider what it really means to have a lasting, meaningful culture of ‘zero-tolerance’ in the context of bullying and harassment and why it matters.

The conference brought together inspirational speakers who are qualified, passionate and in touch with current trends and issues. The program included 10 keynote presenters, over 40 session presenters, 4 interactive workshops and poster presentations.

Without the huge efforts of those involved this event would certainly not be possible. The Australian and New Zealand Mental Health Association would like to thank all of those who participated in this year’s conference; the speakers who provided powerful and thought-provoking presentations, the dedicated efforts of our committee members and support from our Partners ( Shine Lawyers, The Office of the Children’s eSafety Commissioner, Learning Seat and WEIR Consulting), Sponsors, Exhibitors and Supporters.

We look forward to your involvement and support of the 2018 Conference. The destination and date will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Program Committee would like to thank our 2017 keynote speakers

  • Ms Julie Inman Grant,Children’s eSafety Commissioner
  • Lisa Flynn, Principal and Department Manager of Abuse Law, Shine Lawyers
  • Dr Peta Miller,Director, Industry Policy, Safe Work Australia
  • Mr Damian Panlock & Ms Rae Panlock, Directors, Founding Patrons, Brodie’s Law Foundation
  • Dr Naomi Priest – Fellow, Centre for Social Research and Methods, College of Arts and Social Sciences, Australian National University
  • Matthew Sanders, Director and Professor of Clinical Psychology, Parenting and Family Support Centre, The University of Queensland
  • Dr Skye Saunders, Acting Director and Senior Lecturer – ANU Legal Workshop, Australian National University
  • Cheryl Vardon– Principal Commissioner, Queensland Family and Child Commission
  • Oscar Yildiz JP – CEO, Bully Zero Australia Foundation.  Program Co-Chair


Keynote Highlights 2016

Mr Alastair MacGibbon
Childrens e-Safety Commissioner
“Protecting Children from Cyberbullying”

Associate Professor Jane Burns
Founder and CEO, Young and Well CRC
“Digital Resilience”

Program Committee

  • Oscar Yildiz JP, CEO, Bully Zero Australia Foundation. Program Co-Chair
  • Dr Skye Saunders, Director, ANU Legal Workshop, Australian National University. Program Co-Chair
  • Dr Margaret Anne Carter, Senior Lecturer, James Cook University
  • Roberto Garcia, Senior Manager EY, Safety Culture and Wellbeing Strategy Specialist
  • Dr Ken Rigby, Adjunct Professor, School of Education, University of South Australia
  • Maree Stanley, Manager, Maree Stanley Consulting
  • Margaret Thorsborne, Managing Director, Margaret Thorsborne and Associates

Benefits of Attending

2017 Program includes:

  • Keynote Presentations from sector Leaders and Influencers
  • Up to 50 speakers over four concurrent streams
  • Poster presentations
  • Exhibitor and sponsor display from sector specialists
  • Meals for the duration of the conference
  • Welcome Reception
  • STAAR Awards Presentation
  • Personal access to the Presenter Podcasts post conference
  • An online copy of the Book of Proceedings

Network with like-minded delegates

  • Social & Youth Workers
  • Psychologists
  • Psychiatrists
  • General Practitioners
  • Allied Health Professionals
  • Local / State Government
  • Academics and Researchers
  • Principals / Teachers
  • Human Resource Managers
  • Workplace Consultants
  • Education Services Advisors
  • Counsellors / Therapists
  • Workplace Health and Safety
  • Mental Health Workers

Important Dates

  • Abstracts close: 13 March 2017
  • Notification to Presenters: 27 March 2017
  • Presenter Acceptances Due: 7 April 2017
  • Draft Program available: 10 April 2017
  • STAAR Awards close: 28 April 2017
  • Presenter registration due: 12 May 2017
  • Full Papers for Peer Review: 19 May 2017
  • Early Bird Registrations Close: 19 May 2017
  • Full Papers for Non-Peer Review: 16 June 2017

Conference Highlight

STAAR2017 STAAR AWARDS – Strategy To Action Awards Recognition

Following the successful launch in 2016, the STAAR Awards are once again a key feature recognising outstanding achievement in prevention and management approaches to behaviour that causes harm. The three award categories are:

  • Stop School Bullying Award
  • Healthier Workplace Award
  • Cyber Smart Award

This is your opportunity to showcase to the sector strategies and actions that you have undertaken within your school, workplace or community.

Venue - Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Gold Sponsor

Shine Lawyers

Gold Sponsor

The Office of the Children’s eSafety Commissioner

Silver Sponsor

Weir Consulting

Silver Sponsor

Learning Seat

The Conference Office

C/- National NO MORE HARM Conference
PO Box 29, Nerang, QLD 4211
Ph: (61 7) 5502 2068 Fax: (61 7) 5527 3298